Category Archives: Blog

Stuff

2017 MoCCA Arts Festival

April 1st – 2nd, 2017, the MoCCA Arts Festival arrives at the Metropolitan West, located on West 46th Street between 11th and 12th Avenues in Manhattan. The festival runs from 11:00AM – 6:00PM, and I’ll either be exhibiting or wandering around taking it all in.

Here’s my schedule–come find me!
SATURDAY, APRIL 1:
1 – 4 pm at the National Cartoonists Society booth (C131)
4 – 5 pm Wacom Demonstration at the Wacom Lounge (first floor towards the back wall.)

SUNDAY, APRIL 2:
12:30pm – ? DECELERATE BLUE signing with Adam Rapp at the First Second Books booth (E 157, E 158)
4 – 6 pm at the National Cartoonists Society booth (C131)

The MoCCA Arts Festival is a 2-day multimedia event, Manhattan’s largest independent comics, cartoon and animation festival, drawing over 7,000 attendees each year. With 400 exhibiting artists displaying their work, award-winning honorees speaking about their careers and artistic processes and other featured artists conducting workshops, lectures and film screenings, our Festival mission accelerates the advancement of the Society’s broader mission to serve as Manhattan’s singular cultural institution promoting all genres of illustration through exhibitions, programs and art education.

The National Cartoonists Society is the world’s largest and most prestigious organization of professional cartoonists. It was born in 1946 when groups of cartoonists got together to entertain the troops. They found that they enjoyed each other’s company and decided to get together on a regular basis. Today, the NCS membership roster includes over 500 of the world’s major cartoonists, working in many branches of the profession, including newspaper comic strips and panels, comic books and more.

Wacom provides tools and instruments that let people express their creativity as fluently in the digital world as they would with ink on paper, paint on canvas, light in a darkroom or editing suite. Wacom’s enthusiasm for creativity overflows from the professional sphere to provide the tools and inspiration for anyone on their creativity journey, whether just starting out or well on the way. Wacom invites users to celebrate and explore the human spirit of creativity and what that can achieve in the world around them.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail

DECELERATE BLUE out now!

 

DECELERATE BLUE (First Second Books, 208p. $17.99. ISBN 9781596431096), my new graphic novel with author Adam Rapp, is now available for in-store and online purchase! We’ve got some reviews and interviews!

Reviews:

Kirkus Reviews: “This is a strikingly illustrated book set in a potentially massive world, and readers will hope this isn’t the only story to come from it.”

Publishers Weekly: “It’s a world of absolutes, strikingly reflected in Cavallaro’s jittery, angular illustrations, which largely forgo shading in favor of stark black-and-white scenes; color is used only twice, powerfully heightening the emotions in each scene. Rapp’s rapid-fire dialogue eerily evokes a society hurtling down a troubling road and raises haunting questions about sacrifices made in the name of safety, productivity, and progress.”

School Library Journal, starred review: “Fans of George Orwell’s 1984 and Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 will find much to ponder in this notable graphic novel.”

Unbound Worlds: “Feeling overwhelmed by the news? Exhausted by social media? I’d like to prescribe Decelerate Blue, a dystopian science-fiction graphic novel written by Adam Rapp and artist Mike Cavallaro. I finished it in one sitting, like a starving man devouring a sumptuous meal. I needed it. I bet you do, too.”

Gay League: “Decelerate Blue was an engaging and thought provoking read for me. Those requiring happy endings will be disappointed and miss what I believe to be Rapp’s point: One’s ideals and truths are worth fighting for and living regardless the price.”

Project Muse: “Edgy author Rapp pairs up with talented illustrator Mike Cavallaro in this beautiful and powerful graphic novel about a teen who chooses to say “No.” It’s a rare graphic novel that dives into romance and dystopia…”

Very happy for this to finally come out!

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail

Parade (with fireworks)

[Roughly translated: “Maropati, In Memorium, Vincenzo Cavallaro, Vincenzo Cordiano, Fallen on January 6th, 1923 in the defense of popular and Socialist administration against Fascism.”

94 years ago today, my grandfather and great-uncle, Paolo and Vincenzo Cavallaro, respectively, and their cousin Vincenzo Cordiano, were involved in a shootout on the streets of Maropati, in Reggio di Calabria, Italy. It was during the Feast of the Epiphany in 1923, the year Mussolini’s Fascists became an official political party, emboldening thugs and “deadenders” throughout a country that was still suffering from the effects of World War 1. 
My grandfather’s family, along with much of the countryside, were Socialist Party supporters, while their adversaries had pledged themselves to the new Fascist Party. The mood in the country was tense, and seemingly, it didn’t take much to ignite passions.
I used this family story as the basis for my 2009 graphic novel, PARADE (WITH FIREWORKS), published by Image Comics. PARADE earned me a Will Eisner Comics Industry Award-nomination for “Best Limited Series”, and it still stands as one of the books I’m most proud of: not only for my own accomplishment, but for the bravery of my ancestors in the face of emerging tyranny.

Here’s a video about PARADE created (what feels like a million years ago) by Bradley Hatfield. The “two issue” format referred to at the end of the interview was how the story first appeared in print, but I later remastered and expanded it while creating the trade paperback version.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail

Carrie Fisher

I was 8 years old in 1977, and I still vividly remember seeing Star Wars with my mom. It changed my life. I was already a fan of Adam West’s BATMAN, George Reeves’ SUPERMAN, THE LONE RANGER, STAR TREK, LOST IN SPACE. So, perhaps a future in comics and animation was inevitable. But STAR WARS nearly obliterated all those others in my imagination and gave me heroes unlike the rest, not the least of which was Carrie Fisher’s PRINCESS LEIA “I don’t need rescuing” ORGANA. Thanks, and farewell.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail

VCSS: Swords!!!

VULCAN’S CELESTIAL SUPPLY SHOP has a simple style, and I’m trying to keep the looseness and energy of the layouts, so I’ve skipped penciling and I’m inking right on top of the roughs. It’s digital, so it’s not the high wire act of going straight to ink on paper, but there’s still a learning curve. Maybe it’s psychological to some degree. But practically speaking, if you go in scribbling and roughing in shapes, then you’re effectively penciling, which would defeat the purpose. I find you do have to focus differently so that you’re putting down “final” looking line work. At first pages were taking forever as I was feeling out the particulars of the style, but I’m getting faster and looser.

vcss_hoh_012_sample VCSS_Int_Printsize_Template

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail

Come see me at NYCC 2016

ncs_nycc_2016_flyer

Here’s what I’m up to at New York Comic Con 2016:
I’ll mostly be guesting at the National Cartoonists Society booth #2058 where I’ll have copies of VULCAN’S CELESTIAL SUPPLY SHOP for sale. I’m also doing a quick signing at the First Second Books booth #2239 along with author Adam Rapp, where we’ll have a limited number of advance copies of DECELERATE BLUE, our new graphic novel due out this winter.

Table times are:
National Cartoonists Society booth #2058:
Thurs 10/6: 1-4pm
Fri-Sat 10/7 & 10/8: 4-7pm
Sun 10/19: 10am-1pm

First Second Books booth #2239:
Sat 10/8: 12:30pm-1pm

 

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail